Romeo Rewinds: 2006-2011

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Fifteen Credits.”

It’s no secret I finished school almost four years ago. It honestly seems like a lifetime ago, but despite everything and as much as we all complain about it, I do quite miss school.

There is no way told describe the routine that is sudden;y drilled into you from day one. Even if you don’t realise it, you subconsciously build up a routine of sleeping, waking, eating, home-working and being in a certain place at a certain time.

When you leave school, it’s no longer that easy. You have to guess what time to eat because there are no set meal times. No one is checking your homework and you generally have a say in where you need to be at what time. While it all sounds great most of the time, and it pretty much is, a lot of people forget how easy it is to slip into bad habits.

Making the change from high school to university (or college, for my darling Americans) was tough. Gone were the days of subject outlines and clearly defined tasks and worksheets and exams that couldn’t shock you to death. I stopped surviving on well-written course notes by my teachers who evidently put in way more time than they should have, and began surviving on a mix of coffee, energy drinks and shared course notes.

A lot of people don’t realise, but the Australian university system is so different to the way the american college system plays out on our TVs.

For starters, even though we have dorms, they’re more like apartments that you rent on campus. Each is self-sufficient. And a lot of students don’t really stay there unless they live way, way out-of-town. I’m talking country, interstate, or international.

We also don’t seem to have as many frat/sorority parties. Or at least, we do, and I’ve just never been. At the university I go to, it is literally every man for himself. I was at uni for three years (count them!) before I made a friend that I keep in touch with to this day. People don’t want to stop and chat and waste time. They just want to get in, do the work, and get out.

That’s probably the biggest thing I miss about high school. You have five years, for six hours a day where you are forced to intermingle with the same group of people. You’re bound to form relationships and friendships of convenience that are merely held together by the fact that you will see that person; all day, every day, for five years.

There is really a lot I miss about high school. I miss the predictability.

But I would never go back in time.

Despite the unpredictability of my educational life now, I would not trade it for the world because I am actually learning something new every single day. I have so much independence, and I don’t even have to dream about studying a subject that I have no interest in.

As much as you may think it sucks now, don’t wish your high school life away. They are some of the best days of your life, some of the worst days of your life, and some of the biggest learning experiences of your life.

Take each day as it comes, and never take them for granted.

One thought on “Romeo Rewinds: 2006-2011

Leave a Reply

